Backgrounder: Governments of Canada and the Northwest Territories Invest in Transportation Infrastructure


The governments of Canada and the Northwest Territories are announcing funding for 13 infrastructure improvement projects in communities in the territory under the Small Communities Fund. The Government of Canada will provide up to $60,675,000 for these projects, which have a total eligible cost of $80.9 million. The Northwest Territories will contribute the remaining $20,225,000.


The Small Communities Fund provides support for priority public infrastructure projects that deliver on local needs in communities across Canada that have fewer than 100,000 residents.

The Northwest Territories Highway Improvement Initiative includes the rehabilitation of the following projects:

Location Project

Axe Handle Creek

Axe Handle Creek Culvert – Mackenzie Hwy #1, km 260.9

Bouvier Creek

Bouvier Creek Culvert – Mackenzie Hwy #1, km 277.5

Buffalo River

Buffalo River Bridge – NWT Highway #5, km 55.7

Hay River

Hay River to Pine Point Bridge – Hay River Hwy #2, km 2.2

Hodgson Creek

Hodgson Creek Bridge – Mackenzie Hwy #1 Winter Road, km 691.4


Inuvik Access Road – Dempster Hwy #8, km 264.8

James Creek

James Creek Maintenance Garage – Dempster Hwy #8, km 14

Jean Marie River

Jean Marie River Bridge – Mackenzie Hwy #1, km 411.2

Jean Marie River

Jean Marie River Access Road, km 13.5

Nahanni Butte

Nahanni Butte Access Road, km 11

Oscar Creek

Oscar Creek Bridge – Mackenzie Hwy #1 Winter Road, km 1054.4

Trout River

Trout River Bridge – Mackenzie Hwy #1, km 324.8


Frank Channel Bridge – Yellowknife Highway #3, km 244

For more information on the Small Communities Fund.

Read more