Ottawa city council upholds reviled Château Laurier addition


This time it’s official — Ottawa city council has upheld the reviled Château Laurier addition by voting down a motion to overturn an earlier approval during a brief special council meeting Thursday afternoon.


Council members who voted against the motion — in favour of the addition — were Mayor Jim Watson and councillors Tim Tierney, Keith Egli, Glen Gower, George Darouze, Jan Harder, Eli El-Chantiry, Matthew Luloff, Laura Dudas, Jenna Sudds, Jean Cloutier, Allan Hubley and Scott Moffatt.

Coun. Rick Chiarelli also voted against the motion, but did so strategically so he could move for reconsideration of that decision.

More to come.